Zombie Abbey Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway!


Hi booknerds! Today I'm super stoked to participate in the blog tour of Zombie Abbey by Lauren Baratz-Logsted! This book just released on April 3rd from Entangled Teen and it is PERFECT for fans of Downton Abbey, Pride and Prejudice, and The Walking Dead (what a mix, right?!). You can read my review of this super fun read and be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post. Enjoy!
..........

Zombie Abbey by Lauren Baratz-Logsted
April 3rd, 2018 from Entangled Teen
YA Historical/Paranormal
1920, England

And the three teenage Clarke sisters thought what they’d wear to dinner was their biggest problem…

Lady Kate, the entitled eldest.
Lady Grace, lost in the middle and wishing she were braver.
Lady Lizzy, so endlessly sunny, it’s easy to underestimate her.

Then there’s Will Harvey, the proud, to-die-for—and possibly die with!—stable boy; Daniel Murray, the resourceful second footman with a secret; Raymond Allen, the unfortunate-looking young duke; and Fanny Rogers, the unsinkable kitchen maid.

Upstairs! Downstairs! Toss in some farmers and villagers!

None of them ever expected to work together for any reason.

But none of them had ever seen anything like this.
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

*The Reader's Review*
My rating: 4/5 stars
It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie Abbey! Reminiscent to one of my favorite TV shows, Downton Abbey, and one of my all-time favorite novels, Pride and Prejudice -- this novel turned out to be a delight to read about from page one! 

What I Liked:

I've never been much of a fan of zombies (gore and horror is not really my thing), but after reading the premise of this novel, I just knew I had to read it. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint AT ALL. I laughed, I swooned a bit, perhaps even felt stressed and sad as a few favorite characters were taken down and turned into zombies. Before I knew it, I was done with the novel and in need for more! (Will there be more?! Hope so!)

Zombie Abbey has several alternating points of view, from the three Clarke sisters to the staff working at Porthampton Abbey. It's a bit hard keeping up with them at first, but as soon as I managed to recognize who is who based on Downton Abbey, it proved to be a much easier read for me and also a lot more fun since I could easily picture them in my head (I just looove Downton Abbey's characters so much!). In this novel, my favorite POVs/characters turned out to be Fanny (the maid), and the Clarke Sisters (especially Grace and Lizzy).

This book might have a slow start since it takes its time to introduce the situation of Porthampton Abbey's occupants, but it later turns into an action-packed chaos as the Upstairs (Clarkes) and the Downstairs (the staff) have to set aside their prejudices and work together before they get their hearts eaten and turned into zombies! It's well worth the wait if you ask me. ;)

However, if you are expecting horror, then you might not get what you want since it's not truly a horrifying read. It has quite a bit of gore, but the overall take on Zombies and the reactions of Porthampton Abbey's residents when they face them is super funny. I loved it this way, but I can see how some might not really enjoy it. But if you are faint of heart like me, this might also be your kind of read! With Zombies!


What Left Me Wanting More:

I have to admit that I was a expecting more right at the ending. It's left a bit too loose and I'm afraid we will never know how things turn out for some of characters as this seems to be a standalone novel. But perhaps there is hope for a sequel? Crossing fingers!

Final Verdict:

If you are looking for a diverting paranormal read à la Downton Abbey and Pride and Prejudice with lots and lots of zombies, then you'll surely enjoy Zombie Abbey and come to love everyone at Porthampton Abbey! ♥

..........
..........
Tour-wide Giveaway!


Enter the Rafflecopter below to enter the tour-wide giveaway! (US only, sorry Intl friends :( )


..........
About Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Lauren Baratz-Logsted is the author of over 30 books for adults (Vertigo), teens (The Twin’s Daughter) and children (The Sisters 8 series which she created with her husband and daughter). She’d love to dress up in period costume from the 1920s but she’d be a lot less excited about meeting zombies. Lauren lives in Danbury, CT, with her husband and daughter and cat, all of whom are writers (well, maybe not the cat). 

No comments:

Post a Comment