Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow Blog Tour: Review + Gveaway


Hey everyone! Welcome to my stop in the blog tour of Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow! Today I want to share with you my review for this first book of a series about magic and mythology and so much more. Please enjoy and don't forget to enter the amazing giveaway found at the end of the post. Thanks for stopping by!
..........

Click cover for more info!
Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows
by Michelle Madow
Dreamscape Publishing / January 26, 2016

Filled with magic, thrilling adventure, and sweet romance, Elementals is the first in a new series that fans of Percy Jackson and The Secret Circle will love! 

When Nicole Cassidy moves from sunny Georgia to gloomy New England, the last thing she expects is to learn that her homeroom is a cover for a secret coven of witches. Even more surprisingly … she’s apparently a witch herself. Despite doubts about her newfound abilities, Nicole is welcomed into this ancient circle of witches and is bedazzled by their powers—and, to her dismay, by Blake—the school’s notorious bad-boy.

Girls who get close to Blake wind up hurt. His girlfriend Danielle will do anything to keep them away, even if she must resort to using dark magic. But the chemistry between Blake and Nicole is undeniable, and despite wanting to protect Nicole from Danielle’s wrath, he finds it impossible to keep his distance.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole, Blake, Danielle, and two others in their homeroom are gifted with mysterious powers. But the comet has another effect—it opens the portal to the prison world that has contained the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes and attacks Nicole and Blake, it’s up to them and the others to follow the clues from a cryptic prophecy so that they can save their town … and possibly the world. 

*The Reader's Review*
My rating: 3.5/5 stars
The Prophecy of Shadows is a fun quick read and it has some Greek mythology in it which is cool because I love me some Greek mythology! It was so nice to read more into one of my favorite historical sub-genres and I really liked the new spin Michelle Madow weaved into this new series by mixing in magic and the power of the elements  as well. Super neat!

I feel that this book is more for the younger audience of YA readers since the characters are not as "mature" as I'm used to with silly arguments and actions, but they were still enjoyable company. I liked how Nicole, Blake, Danielle, Chris and Kate have to band together to fulfill whatever tasks the prophecy throws their way and how they have to overlook certain things happening between each other for the greater good.

Nicole is a likeable character and apparently a really strong witch, but she still has a long way to grow as a person. I wasn't much of a fan of her lingering towards Blake when there were much more important things to focus on, but c'est la vie when you are a 16 or 17 year old girl facing a hot guy. Except this one is taken so... not nice.

Blake is good looking and all but I don't like his attitude and his ever-present intense gaze. . Didn't like what he did down the cliff either. DUDE.  But I hope he redeems himself in my eyes in the sequel.

It's not the most perfect read, but the series has so much room to grow and I do feel that it will get better. The Prophecy of Shadows at times was on shaky grounds but I still managed to enjoy the ride and even take that peek into the sequel, The Blood of the Hydra. ;)
..........

About Michelle Madow

Michelle Madow has always loved writing stories, but the possibility of being an author used to feel more like a dream than a reality. She didn’t share her stories with anyone until her junior year of college, when she signed up for an Intro to Creative Writing course. Her teacher and classmates read the first chapter of a book idea she had, and they loved it so much that they told her she had to finish the book so they could find out what happened next. By the end of the school year, Michelle finished that book, which would later be published as her first novel, Remembrance.

Michelle grew up in Baltimore, and now lives in Boca Raton, Florida, where she writes books for young adults. Some of her favorite things are: reading, pizza, traveling, shopping, time travel, Broadway musicals, and spending time with friends and family. Michelle has toured across America to promote her books and to encourage high school students to embrace reading and writing. Someday, she hopes to travel the world for a year on a cruise ship.

Visit Michelle online at www.michellemadow.com, and be sure to sign up for her newsletter and follow her on Amazon to get instant updates on her books!
..........

GIVEAWAY!

Michelle is offering up a fabulous prize during her Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows Virtual Tour event. One (1) lucky winner will receive a Kindle Fire 7”! To enter, simply fill out the Rafflecopter below:


4 comments:

  1. I'm not too much of a fan of Greek Mythology so I definitely wouldn't bother with this and tbh it doesn't seem like it was mind blowing or anything. And I definitely don't want to read anything that seems like it's for a younger audience, no, no, no. Thanks for the review, Melissa!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha I understand! Since I still read some MG books, I'm more keen to enjoy these type. But when they say YA, I prefer more mature characters.

      Delete
  2. I'm a big fan of Michelle so I'll be reading this one soon. I love Greek Myth, but I'm afraid about it being for younger readers. I know she said it's for fans of Percy Jackson, and I'm not a fan (well, I haven't read the books)... but we'll see.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't read Percy Jackson either! Maybe that's the key to fully loving this book. I am also a Michelle Madow fan so I'll keep on reading and crossing fingers for an even awesomer sequel. :)

      Delete